Graphic Design & Me

Art & Design

What Do I Love Most About Design

I love to help people and this is a people business. I get to learn new things from each client and their project. Seeing my designs come to fruition and fulfill their needs is amazing. My passion for design comes from the constantly changing atmosphere. Using different mediums, styles, themes, illustrations and visual manipulations are required to develop new visual concepts. My job is never the same. Each design is a new and different challenge which keeps the job fun and interesting.

3 Attributes of a Great Designer

I think three attributes would be creativity, flexibility and thick skin. You obviously need to be creative to develop novel designs that fit your clients needs. But you also need to be flexible in terms of your skill. You always need to try new things, new designs, new softwares. Being able to be flexible is imperitave. And you must have thick skin because you are going to be critiqued constantly. So to understand that criticism only makes you and the design better is critical.

What to Consider When Hiring a Designer

I think anyone looking for a designer needs to review their portfolio. Any professional graphic designer or artist keeps an updated portfolio. Ask to see it. They may even have a website. This way you can see their work and decide if they are the right fit for you and your project.

Why Should I be Your Designer?

I think because my designs are different, you will get a unique and individualized product because I have a strong background in the fine arts. I always try to include some aspect of the fine arts into the designing process, like hand drawing illustrations, or creating digital paintings to include into a piece of graphic work. It helps keep my designs fresh and interesting.

My Proudest Accomplishments as a Designer

I am especially proud of the graphics I created for the Customer Service Fair located in the Pentagon. Seeing my hand drawn 1950’s illustrations and original designs on banners and posters around the Pentagon was amazing.

Banners & Posters - WHS at the Pentagon

Banners & Posters – WHS at the Pentagon

Another design I am particularly proud of is the creation of the logo elements used in the logo for the 50th Anniversary of the Vietnam War Commemoration. I was hand picked to create the graphics that were used in the final logo. It was put on flags, hats, challenge coins and shirts, and of course the corresponding website.

Logo Design - FACA Committee

Logo Design – FACA Committee

And the newest designs I am most fond of are the two logos I recently created. One was for the LymeVine, an organization and blog that is dedicated to spreading the awareness of Lyme Disease.

Logo - The Lyme Vine

Logo – The Lyme Vine

And the other is a logo I did for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. They are holding an event October 4, 2014 called Bourbon, Bites & Bluegrass that I created the logo for.  I used my iPad, the Paper App by fiftythree and a stylus to hand draw the illustration.

Logo - Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Logo – Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Both logos turned out beautifully and were loved by both organizations.

 

If you are looking for a graphic designer, please feel free to check out the rest of my work under the Portfolio tab or contact me via the Contact tab. Thanks for reading and I hope to work with you!

Comments are Welcome!

